top of page

Using Ring Keypad to Open Garage Door (SmartThings ecosystem) - Part 8

It's been a while. I went on-site to the rental property in late March/early April and had a very small amount of time to tinker with things. I also paused a bit to work on a side-side project with the Ring Alarm Takeover kit and hooking it into the SmartThings ecosystem (I'll write a separate blog series about it). I'm writing this over 2 months later, so I'll try my best to summarize what I did back in March/April:

  • Hooked up the "real", non-development account.

  • Accidentally destroyed my test data records in dynamodb. Basically I just need to restore the userId custom field from cognito back into the dynamodb record. Done.

  • Because nothing was setup, exposed some assumptions in the UI around having a location, locks, etc. UI was pretty busted, but I cleaned up some/most of that.

  • Create a new lambda function for lockSync2 (to try to get it more managed by the amplify framework to allow for easier integration/testing/local testing).

    • Also added a "SyncNow" button in UI to call lockSync2 for debugging purposes. Might be a force-sync button exposed to all end users in the future.

  • Confirmed that the Yale Z-wave locks I have can be controlled appropriately.

  • A bit of touch-up/clean-up on the actual sync logic (lambda function).


I think that is all? Not much. I'll fill in more details as I remember them as I try to resurrect this project and browse through git history.

Comments


bottom of page