top of page

Using Ring Keypad to Open Garage Door (SmartThings ecosystem) - Part 4

UI Time

I am admittedly not the best web ui developer. I just haven't spent much time with it. I've been busy doing other things, but also diving into a few things to make sure my architecture is basically right (always subject to change, though!). Here is what I'm thinking initially:



I've been looking mostly into the Vue-based UI, in combination with aws amplify+cognito to figure out how to support multiple users. I've also looked into how to get user SmartThings authentication tokens to use in the UI as well as the lambda that actually does the synching of lock codes. The picture is starting to come together.


As of today, I've learned a bit about Vue, got AWS Cognito setup via amplify, and have a bare-bones app that basically allows someone to create an account, but you can't really do anything with that account yet.


The next step is going to be on the complete opposite end of the diagram -- the heart of what I need -- a service that will be able to set lock codes on a schedule. I'm working from both ends so that I can meet in the middle with a hopefully-decent data model/structure which I will (most-likely) store in DynamoDB, and support multiple users.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page